Call Us

Hartman, Doherty, Rosa, Berman, Bulbulia Attorneys at Law Serving Bergen County & the State of New Jersey.

Assault and Battery

Experienced NJ Criminal Lawyer Defends Clients Against  Charges of Assault and Battery

assault and battery charges njMake no mistake; being charged with assault and battery in New Jersey is serious. A conviction means you will have a violent crime on your record for the rest of your life. Depending on the circumstances, a conviction of assault may result in a prison sentence of up to 10 years, a fine of up to $150,000, probation and fines.

Certain convictions of aggravated assault carry sentences with extended periods of parole ineligibility and five years of parole supervision upon release from state prison.  An assault conviction will also most likely affect future job opportunities. When the criminal consequences are this serious, you can’t afford to face the prosecution on your own. You need professional support from an aggressive criminal defense attorney who can fight your charges, protect your rights, and guide you through the complexities of the New Jersey judicial system.

If you found yourself in wrong place at the wrong time when a fight broke out or got caught up in a domestic dispute you may be facing charges for aggravated assault. Criminal defense attorney Dennis Calo can provide the expert and aggressive defense you need against a wide range of charges including but not limited to:

  • Simple Assault
  • Verbal Assault
  • Sexual Assault
  • Aggravated Assault
  • Vehicular Assault
  • Domestic Violence
  • Assault with a Deadly Weapon
  • Bar Fights
  • Gang Fights
  • Armed Robbery
  • Weapons Crimes
  • Brandishing a Weapon
  • Negligent Discharge of a Weapon

A charge of assault in New Jersey, regardless of whether it is a simple assault or aggravated assault, can be very complex.

If You Are Arrested for Assault Charges Don’t Give the Prosecutor a Head Start, Contact Dennis Calo Right Away

What is The Difference between Assault and Battery

We have all heard the phrase “assault and battery,” but many people do not realize that these are two different crimes.  A battery is considered the unwanted physical force upon another including any unwanted touching during a verbal assault such as a push or a shove.  If you commit a battery in New Jersey, your charge will most likely be charged as assault because of the physical contact with the other party. Simple assault, a minor offense in New Jersey, is the offense of causing minor physical injury to or causing someone to fear personal bodily harm. Someone involved in a fight resulting in minor injuries would most likely be charged with simple assault. In order to be guilty of a criminal battery, you must have made physical contact with the person. If you committed a criminal battery, New Jersey will charge you with aggravated assault due to causing bodily injury. Important note: those principles are working on married couples as well but we highly recommend to find according to your state appropriate site on and divorce with abusive spouse.

Aggravated Assault in New Jersey

Aggravated assault is considered a criminal offense.  Aggravated assault consists of simple assault with the added elements of significant and/or serious bodily injury, the lack of concern toward human life and possibly utilizing a deadly weapon with the intention of inflicting bodily injury.  The consequences of aggravated assault charges will result in penalties more severe than a simple assault. The circumstances surrounding an incident and the extent of injury a person suffers will determine the degree of the charge.

Call New Jersey Assault and Battery Lawyer, Dennis Calo Today

As a former prosecutor and now a criminal defense attorney, Dennis understands what the prosecutor needs to prove in order to convict someone of assault and battery charges. He has the expertise to swiftly and vigorously defend you against these serious charges whether that means acquittal, dismissal of charges or a lesser charge or penalty.

Dennis Calo is located in Bergen County, New Jersey and serves clients throughout New Jersey. Call us at 201-441-9056 today or contact us online for a free consultation with an experienced New Jersey criminal attorney.

contact us